365 :: august 11, 2010

17 Aug

august 11, 2010. i finally starting organizing my own space today and i’ve made a bit of progress. one of the last things i tackled was my embroidery and sewing supplies and i knew exactly what i wanted to use to store the now tangle-free strands and color-coded pins.

when my grandparents died in 2001 (my grandfather in june and my grandmother in november), my parents traveled to florida to help with the estate and ended up bringing a few odds and ends home for my siblings and me. besides my grandma’s sewing table (which my dad re-finished for me in purple), i got both of their travel cases. the matching cases have been sitting behind my armchair since i moved into my apartment almost three years ago and i’d completely forgotten what i had put in them (junk, mostly). at the bottom of my grandma’s case, i found my grandpa’s business card from detroit edison, where he was an electrician, and a snapshot of the two of them from august 1968. i was smiling through tears as i sat examining their bathing suits, hairdos, and pasty white skin – they were definitely still in michigan when this shot was snapped!

they were the truest and the best.

2 Responses to “365 :: august 11, 2010”

  1. Janet August 23, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Super sweet! I love those vintage square photos.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. sweet william « the card catalog - November 2, 2010

    […] sweet william. i really love this quilt because it has my favorite grandfather’s name in the title and because it’s cold again now. this means i can use it to snuggle and […]

Leave a Reply

