elle aime

18 May

have you ever wanted to live somewhere else? not just in another city or country, but in a different time, a different world? and not just live, but live (i could so easily spin off on a linguistic tanget here).

lately, i find myself wanting to live and live in a world directed by jean-pierre jeunet. i would seriously entrust him with the characterization, plot, mood, set, and script of my life. i love his artistic eye and the wit, joy, sorrow, beauty, and life his films portray.

i especially love this short film, where dominique pinon’s character simply states what he knows about himself: what he likes. what he doesn’t like.

if my life were narrated in french, what would j’aime? when people ask me what i like, i always uh, um my way through a less-than-eloquent reply. i should know these things without hesitation.

i want to cultivate a pleasure for the small things in life and i don’t think you can take pleasure in simple things unless you can recognize what makes you heart flutter a bit. so i’ve decided to start a small journal of these things as i come across them. things i know about myself. things that i like.

elle aime

the things can be simple or profound, i’m not picky. i just want to keep a record of myself for myself. and maybe for someone else. i would love to look at my family & friends’ lists and see what makes them happy. the little oddities in life that make them smile.

i like...

so, elle aime. she likes. we’ll see.

3 Responses to “elle aime”

  1. Twins' Mom May 18, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    I LOVE this blog!!! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. Nancy July 4, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

    I want to do this, too!

    can I copy you, Megan?

    (only I’d put “mi piace” instead of “elle aime”

    Nancy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. His Head is Big, My Yogurt is Greek « Because OF COURSE. - May 24, 2009

    […] been thinking a lot about the little things in life that I love, thanks to M.  I really love when paper bags fold flat effortlessly.  I, too, enjoy cleaning my ears with […]

Leave a Reply

