it’s the great pumpkin, charlie brown

20 Oct

hooray for fall days (even if they do turn rather hot), cute kids, and pumpkins. or poo-kins as my niece calls them.

after working seven straight days last week (i know, i know – cry me a river), i totally did not want to do anything this morning but sleep. and sleep more. but i got a call from my mom about a trip to a semi-local pumpkin patch involving two of my good friends, my sister, her best friend, and some more kids.

for reference, my mom is somewhat of a domestic goddess in childcare. she has watched kids in our home since i was a very small girl and now watches my friend’s twins and sometimes play-dates a certain somebody’s very cute little boy. how could i refuse a day on the farm with such company?

there were also farm animals and a petting zoo. my sister was lucky enough to get sneezed on by a cute little baby goat. she also got cute little baby goat snot in her mouth. oh, the memories.

the animal portion of the morning was followed by a hayride and finally pumpkin pickin’. i chose a good ‘un, even though i totally hearted (big time) those beautiful white, green, and pale orange siren pumpkins luring the innocent to the mass graveyard of ordinary pumpkins (yawn). needless to say, those pumpkins were not included in the admission price. humph.

overall, a good morning. but you wanna know what made it a great day? no, a life-affirming-almost-makes-me-wanna-have-a-kid-so-it-can-be-this-cool day? a two-year-old with curly brown hair and gorgeous blue eyes softly, sweetly, and earnestly singing along to one of my favorite songs. e, you rock.

One Response to “it’s the great pumpkin, charlie brown”

  1. slh07 October 21, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    Awwwwww! You’re so sweet! Getting teary over here… before I’ve even had my coffee.

Leave a Reply

