get assertive?

8 Oct

i signed up for this today. i don’t know how that makes me feel. a little embarrassed, a little excited, a little scared. well, of course, i’m scared – i think that goes without saying. that’s why i need to take this. the very thought of being assertive makes me ill. literally sick. i don’t like overly assertive people and i do not want to become one, but i need to get a backbone. i need to stand up for myself and not feel flooded with anxiety beforehand and guilt afterwards.

so, we’ll see how this works out. i actually kind of miss school, so this is good. not exactly the same as going for my PhD, which is something i’ve been pondering lately, but still. a project. something to work toward. now, if you’ll excuse me, i need to go down a bottle of pepto bismol.

One Response to “get assertive?”

  1. Sara October 8, 2008 at 10:20 pm #

    Hee! I can’t wait to hear about how this goes! And you could give me some pointers. I tend to clam up around certain people, especially ones I don’t know well. ASSERT, damnit!

    (Aside, you need to do your ABOUT page and get a tag line for this biatch!)

Leave a Reply

